Coriander Chutney (Green Chutney)

My Special Coriander Chutney (Green Chutney)

Perfect for Parties as an accompaniment to Appetizers / Main Course

I hereby declare that I make excellent chutneys. Am I sounding pompous to you? Well, please don’t judge me … this is one of the things I cook / make really well. So I guess, I can make that self-declaration right? Haha…

My chutneys, be it the South Indian coconut chutney or the coriander chutney has a huge fan following amongst friends & family. There is always a small box filled with chutney lying in the fridge at any given point in time. This chutney is a perfect dip for your starters or to be had along with your main course with a salad on the side. It is spicy (well, I love green chilies so I go overboard) & is so good that you won’t miss the creamy saucy spreads that markets sell these days. No added preservatives or any vinegar … this is just a pure blend of fresh ingredients.

This recipe is for keeps & next time you plan a party, please ensure you include this in big quantities. You will earn accolades, I guarantee. Check out the detailed recipe below.

PS – Did I tell you that the chilies used in the chutney are home grown!! Now that’s such a great feeling I tell u!! 

IMG_0572 Green chilli close up.jpg

Prep Time – 10 mins 

Ingredients –

  1. Coriander Leaves – 1.5 cups roughly chopped (Should include leaves & stems both)
  2. 1 small onion roughly chopped
  3. 2-3 cloves of garlic
  4. 6-7 green chillies roughly chopped
  5. 1 – 2 inch piece of ginger roughly chopped
  6. Water to grind the chutney as required.
  7. Salt as per taste (Not to be added while grinding)

Method

  1. In a mixer jar, add the roughly chopped coriander leaves along with the stems.
  2. Add the onion, garlic, chillies & ginger.
  3. Splash some water & grind it well.
  4. Don’t add too much water as we have added onions in the chutney mixture that does provide some moisture & thickness to the chutney.
  5. Once the chutney has ground well, transfer the same into a container (preferably glass or steel), add salt, mix it well & store it in the refrigerator.
  6. Stays good for almost a week.

Notes –

  • In case you wish to reduce the chillies, you may do so, it doesn’t really hamper the taste.
  • Perfect to slather on a piece of bread & load it with veggies, grill it & make a perfect sandwich.
  • Goes well with all Indian starters & main course options.

If you like my work, please show me some love by following me on:-

Twitter – https://twitter.com/masalachilli

Facebook Page – https://www.facebook.com/MasalachillibyVidyaNarayan/

Pinterest – https://in.pinterest.com/masalachilli

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/masalachilli_vidyanarayan/

Vidya Narayan

17 thoughts on “Coriander Chutney (Green Chutney)

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

